Lapland Regional Fund

The Lapland Regional Fund is one of the Finnish Cultural Foundation's 17 regional funds. Founded in 1954, when it formed part of the North Finland Fund, together with the Kainuu Regional Fund and the North Ostrobothnia Regional Fund, the Lapland Regional Fund became a separate entity in 1968.

The Fund is devoted to promoting and developing the arts, the sciences, and other fields of endeavour in Lapland - by providing annual grants and awards. The region covered by the Fund included 21 municipalities.

Applicants born or living in Lapland are given priority when awarding grants, as is scientific or artistic work carried out in or covering the region, together with major regional cultural and development projects.

The Lapland Regional Fund comprises a General Fund and donor funds based on private and public donations and bequests. Grants made from the latter are directed towards areas specified by the donor at the time of their bequest. Areas not covered by this procedure are supported from the general funds.

The Fund's activities and decision-making are impartial and not linked to political parties or other organisations or associations. Grants made by the Fund are decided by a nine-member Administrative Council that reflects a wide range of expertise and knowledge in the arts, the sciences, society, and business in the region.

A.E. Nordenskiöld -stipend

In addition to normal grants The Lapland Regional Fund awards the A.E. Nordenskiöld -stipend. The aim of the grant is to promote Arctic research. Total amount is 24 000 euros and the grant can be awarded as individual or a working group grant.

Manager Susanna Jänkälä is responsible for administering the Lapland Regional Fund.

Go to the Online Application Service.

Contact information:

Susanna Jänkälä, Lapin rahaston asiamies
Piia Julkunen, Pohjois-Savon rahaston sihteeri

The email addresses are in the following format: