Back to all articles
The 2024 winner of the Mirjam Helin Competition is Jingjing Xu
Suuri joukko ihmisiä seisomassa lavalla juhlavaatteissa
All the finalists and the jury together after the Competition Final. Photo: Minna Hatinen
The winner of the 9th Mirjam Helin International Singing Competition is the Chinese mezzo-soprano Jingjing Xu. “The standard of the competitors has been extremely high, and the audience fantastic”, says Soile Isokoski, the chair of the jury.

The winner of the 2024 Mirjam Helin competition is the Chinese mezzo-soprano Jingjing Xu, who received a prize of €50,000. The German soprano Kathrin Lorenzen placed second, receiving €40,000, and the South Korean tenor Junho Hwang placed third and received €30,000. The Polish soprano Justyna Khil, the Armenian baritone Aksel Daveyan, and the Croatian soprano Josipa Bilić also participated in the final, and each of them received €10,000.

Iloinen nainen suuri kukkakimppu kädessään
Jingjing Xu. Photo: Minna Hatinen.

“The standard of the competitors has been extremely high, and the audience fantastic. Furthermore, there has been a good spirit among the jury. It has been a great pleasure to be part of the competition,” says jury chair Soile Isokoski.

The €5,000 prize for the best Lied performance went to the German baritone Gabriel Rollinson for his Among the Fuchsias by Harry Burleigh. The €5,000 prize for the best performance of a Finnish song by a singer whose native language is neither Finnish nor Swedish went to the Hungarian soprano Renáta Gebe-Fügi for her interpretation of Minä metsän polkuja kuljen by Erkki Melartin.

The choice of the press jury was the Norwegian soprano Hedvig Haugerud. The press jury consisted of Anne Aavik from Estonia, Kikka Holmberg and Harri Kuusisaari from Finland, and Jürgen Otten and Michael Stallknecht from Germany.

The student jury chose the Chinese mezzo-soprano Jingjing Xu as their favourite. The members of the student jury were Liisa Kouvonen from Turku University of Applied Sciences, Tanja Niemelä from the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki, and Tiina Salminen from Metropolia University of Applied Sciences.

The Finnish Broadcasting Company Yle audience favourite award went to Kathrin Lorenzen.

The jury members were bass-baritone Luca Pisaroni, pianist Keval Shah, baritone Bo Skovhus, mezzo-soprano Randi Stene, and soprano Dawn Upshaw. The jury was chaired by soprano Soile Isokoski.

You can find the presentations and repertoires of the finalists on our website:

Josipa Bilić
Aksel Daveyan
Junho Hwang
Justyna Khil
Kathrin Lorenzen
Jingjing Xu